When did the organization start offering IEA Accreditation?

The IEA began offering accreditation to teachers and professionals, training programs, and schools in January 2009.  The program currently accredits Enneagram professionals, Enneagram training programs meeting certain standards and Enneagram schools offering comprehensive and in-depth Enneagram training and education.  The Accreditation Program Chart outlines the overall program and categories.

IEA Accreditation serves as a mark of excellence for teachers and professionals, training programs and schools.  Accreditation lets clients, students and others in the international Enneagram community know that a certain standard of quality and level of experience in understanding, teaching and using the Enneagram professionally has been achieved.  

IEA Accreditation also signifies that the accredited individual or program has committed to adhering to the IEA’s Ethical Guidelines and Code of Ethics.   Participation in the IEA’s Accreditation program reinforces to the public that the IEA is a self-regulating community that maintains a high level of standards for teaching and communication of the Enneagram system while supporting the proliferation of multiple perspectives and ways of using the Enneagram ethically and respectfully.

What are the benefits of being IEA Accredited?

  • You demonstrate that you have met a high international standard in your training and professional use of the Enneagram.
  • You indicate your commitment to ethical conduct in your teaching and professional use of the Enneagram.
  • You distinguish yourself and your programs from other non-accredited teachers, professionals and programs and can display proudly your dated IEA Accreditation logo in your marketing and program materials.
  • Your students receive more points toward their own accreditation by attending your trainings than those of non-accredited teachers and programs.
  • You become part of a vibrant, growing, global learning community of recognized professionals.

What are the IEA Accreditation categories?

The IEA Accreditation Program consists of:

IEA Accredited Professional (AP)

Accredited Professionals are individuals with an advanced level of training in the Enneagram and a depth of professional Enneagram-related practical experience.  In order to qualify for accreditation, professionals must have received a minimum number of hours of Enneagram training over the course of at least three years, must have performed a minimum amount of Enneagram-related professional work such as teaching, coaching, consulting or other qualifying activities, also over the course of at least three years, and must be recommended for accreditation by two other IEA Accredited Professionals who have observed their work. See IEA Accredited Professional Requirements.

IEA Accredited Professional With Distinction (APD)

This new category of accreditation has been introduced to recognize our most experienced and dedicated Accredited Professionals.  In order to be considered, an Accredited Professional must have been teaching or using the Enneagram professionally for at least 15 years, and have been accredited for at least 5 years and have provided significant contributions to the work of the IEA and/or the understanding and use of the Enneagram.  (In rare cases the Accreditation Committee may award this distinction to individuals who have not yet been accredited for 5 years but who have otherwise made extraordinary contributions to the IEA and the growth, development and understanding of the Enneagram over a significant period of time.) Accredited Professionals with Distinction have also presented at the IEA’s Global or an IEA Affiliate-sponsored Regional conference at least twice and been recommended by two of their peers. See IEA Accredited Professional With Distinction Requirements.

IEA Accredited Training Programs (ATP)

Accredited Training Programs are in-depth training programs that are designed and delivered from advanced knowledge of the Enneagram and provide either comprehensive Enneagram education or a specialized focus on a specific application or approach to the Enneagram.  Accredited Training Programs are offered and taught by one or more Accredited Professionals or a sponsoring Accredited Enneagram School. See IEA Accredited Training Program Requirements.

IEA Accredited Enneagram Schools (AES)

Accredited Enneagram Schools are organizations that regularly offer basic and advanced Enneagram trainings, including one or more Accredited Training Programs that provide a comprehensive Enneagram education or an in-depth education in using the Enneagram a particular field or application.  In order to qualify, an organization must have existed for at least two years and all Enneagram faculty must be Accredited Professionals. Accredited Enneagram Schools award a professional certification upon completion of the program, typically requiring fieldwork or assessment of mastery. See IEA Accredited Enneagram School Requirements.

IEA Accredited With Honor (AH)

Accredited With Honor is a life-time recognition awarded to honor IEA Founders and certain others who were determined to have contributed significantly to the IEA and the Enneagram community in remarkable or extraordinary ways with new knowledge or influential theories.  This level of recognition is no longer awarded.

Become Accredited Today!